Completed research project

Swarm intelligence in the fields

A new technology that will facilitate the transition to a future highly automated autonomous agricultural technology and which, in addition, will make an essential contribution to sustainable and resource-saving field cultivation is intended. The novel technologies and solutions, which are being researched and developed in several subprojects with partners are now being introduced by Reichhardt into operational practice.

AGRARTECHNIK had a conversation with Dr. Thomas Pohlmann.

Interview with Dr. Thomas Pohlmann, Managing Director

A look at new worlds

Since August 2017, during a period of more than three years, several key technologies and innovative solutions have been developed within a project consortium, together with other partners, which were presented to the public at the end of the research project. In the demonstration, the two field swarm units (FSU) drove autonomously in the specified swarm network. The John Deere tractor equipped with Tractor Implement Management were controlled by the attached FSU.

  • Dr. Pohlmann, the topic of „swarm intelligence“ is being discussed more and more frequently in agricultural engineering, Why did Reichhardt decide to develop in this direction?

Dr. Thomas Pohlmann: As a pioneer in the automation of agricultural machinery, we recognized the trend toward autonomous field cultivation many years ago. With our participation in the trend-setting German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) growth core “Field Swarm”, we have also been able to implement this autonomous work method in a machine network for the first time. The field swarm growth core is synonymous with a new age of autonomous field cultivation. As part of a top-class project consortium with a start-up mentality, Reichhardt has, among other things, realized a new level of Isobus automation for autonomous agricultural machinery. This is one of the essential prerequisites for creating an ecosystem that will make the operational use of autonomous agricultural machinery technically and economically possible in the first place.

  • Please explain briefly what exactly lies behind the project. What does Reichhardt Steuerungstechnik expect from this topic?

In the “field swarm”, Smart Farming is exemplified by autonomous agricultural machines, which are controlled by a higher-level swarm navigation and radio technology. Both are key technologies which we will make available to our OEM customers in the future and which we will also incorporate into our retrofit solutions.

  • How did the cooperation with the partners involved in the project come about? What role does Reichhardt GmbH Steuerungstechnik play?

The project consortium consists of the John Deere company, six medium-sized companies and five research institutes. We were appointed to the consortium at the beginning of 2020 to implement the Isobus control technology and operation of the autonomous machine concepts. This includes in particular the tablet service system as well as the remote control based on Reichhardt’s Smart Command app. This was further developed to include innovative Isobus features and customizable operator interfaces and will be made available as a new product in the future.

  • When do you see such systems becoming sustainably established in practice?

Due to the increasing shortage of skilled workers, there is an ever more frequent and urgent demand for reliably autonomous machine concepts. The first providers have already been in field use internationally in recent years, in some cases also with swarm concepts. According to our market research, this new technology will be established alongside traditional machine systems in ten to 15 years’ time, particularly among farms in North America and Western Europe.

  • Retrofitting such solutions could become increasingly important for agricultural machinery dealers. What is the current status here?

The retrofit solutions for controlling autonomous agricultural machinery will be much more reliable due to higher safety requirements and longer operating times, and much more intuitive due to more intelligent Smart Command operating concepts. In addition, the large number of new providers of agricultural robots is giving rise to interesting new business models, such as the rental or operation of autonomous agricultural technology – Farming as a service. Initial examples show that this can also be interesting for new providers even in well-established agricultural technology markets such as Germany.

  • What is the next step in the project „Swarm Configuration“?

Reichhardt was commissioned with the coordination of a concept for a BMBF- Rubin ‘Field Swarm – Ecosystem’. This involves the development of a technology platform for the entire spectrum of assistance systems, both for autonomous agricultural machinery guided by the farmer and for fully autonomous supervised field cultivation. The existing project consortium will be expanded to include new technology competencies. Discussions with potential partners are currently underway.

  • Final question Dr. Pohlmann: How satisfied are you with the general development of your company?

Of course, we were unable to escape the worldwide crises – triggered by the Corona pandemic and the supply collapse of electronic components. However, we are still able to deliver today and have been able to serve each of our customers well. We are also satisfied with the continuing high demand for our retrofit solutions and OEM Isobus automation. This makes us very optimistic for the coming years.

Source: AGRARTECHNIK, Lukas Arnold (Editor)

Download the original article

THIS IS FIELD SWARM TECHNOLOGY

Field swarm technologies – this refers to the idea of using a swarm of autonomously or semi-autonomously operating machines, each of which is individually, electrically driven and operated in a network, to carry out field cultivation with a far higher degree of automation and at a significantly lower specific power requirement than is technologically possible with today’s equipment technology. The technological developments aimed at require close cooperation in the fields of agricultural engineering, materials science, electrical engineering, mechanical and vehicle engineering, and energy, plant and automation technology. The individual components and technologies of the field swarm system are being researched in a total of four collaborative projects: “Automation, Processes and Tools”, “Chassis, Drive and Steering”, “Environment Sensors and Swarm Navigation” and “Field Swarm Systems”.

Article about autonomous agricultural machines in swarm configuration

Tablet mit Funkfernsteuerung für Schwarm
Reichhardt GmbH Steuerungstechnik has recently started working together with HBC-radiomatic GmbH. This company produces radio remote controls. These help to operate autonomous machines manually if necessary and thus increase functional safety.
Resume a previous inquiry?

You had already started an inquiry for the vehicle listed below. Would you like to continue or start a new request?

Request was started for the following vehicle:
Search for dealers in a different area
product overview

Smart Farming Partner

SIS REMOTE

Key technology for autonomous field work

Learn more
SMART AgLIGHT

The new and unique intelligent worklight-system

Learn more
Tablet mit SMART COMMAND
SMART COMMAND

The new app for Smart Farming applications turn the tablet into an ISO-VT

Learn more
Learn even more about Reichhardt's Precision Farming world
all products

Abgeschlossenes Forschungsprojekt

Schwarmintelligenz auf den Feldern

Eine neue Technologie, die den Übergang zu einer künftig hochautomatisierten autonomen Landtechnik ermöglicht und mit der darüber hinaus ein wesentlicher Beitrag zu nachhaltiger und ressourcenschonender Feldbearbeitung geleistet werden soll. Die neuartigen Technologien und Lösungen, die in mehreren Verbund- und Teilprojekten mit Partnern erforscht und entwickelt worden waren, werden nun von Reichhardt in die betriebliche Praxis eingeführt.

Interview Dr. Thomas Pohlmann, Geschäftsführer

Blick auf neue Welten

Während einer mehr als dreijährigen Laufzeit seit August 2017 konnten im Rahmen eines Projektkonsortiums gemeinsam mit weiteren Partnern mehrere Schlüsseltechnologien und innovative Lösungen entwickelt werden, die zum Abschluss des Forschungsvorhabens der Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt wurden. In der Vorführung fuhren die beiden Feldschwarm-Einheiten (FSE) autonom im vorgegebenen Schwarmverbund. Der mit Tractor Implement Management ausgestattete John Deere-Traktor wurde von der angebauten FSE gesteuert.

  • Herr Dr. Pohlmann, das Thema „Schwarmintelligenz“ wird immer häufiger in der Landtechnik diskutiert. Warum hat sich Reichhardt entschieden, in diese Richtung zu entwickeln?

Dr. Thomas Pohlmann: Als Pionier der Automatisierung von Landmaschinen haben wir schon vor vielen Jahren den Trend zur autonomen Feldbearbeitung erkannt. Mit der Beteiligung an dem richtungsweisenden Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) – Wachstumskern „Feldschwarm“ haben wir zudem erstmalig diese autonome Arbeitsweise im Maschinenverbund realisieren können. Der Wachstumskern Feldschwarm steht synonym für ein neues Zeitalter der autonomen Feldbearbeitung. Reichhardt hat als Teil eines hochkarätigen Projektkonsortiums mit Start-Up-Mentalität unter anderem ein neues Level der Isobus-Automatisierung für autonome Landmaschinen realisiert. Dies ist eine der wesentlichen Voraussetzungen zur Schaffung eines Ökosystems, welches erst den betrieblichen Einsatz autonomer Landmaschinen technisch und wirtschaftlich möglich machen wird.

  • Erläutern Sie bitte kurz, was genau hinter dem Projekt steckt. Was verspricht sich die Reichhardt Steuerungstechnik von dieser Thematik?

Dr. Thomas Pohlmann: Im „Feldschwarm“ wird beispielhaft das Smart Farming von autonomen Landmaschinen durchgeführt, welche durch eine übergeordnete Schwarmnavigation und Funktechnik gesteuert werden. Beides sind Schlüsseltechnologien, welche wir künftig unseren OEM-Kunden zur Verfügung stellen und auch in unsere Nachrüstlösungen einbringen werden.

  • Wie kam es zur Zusammenarbeit mit den am Projekt beteiligten Partnern? Welche Rolle übernimmt die Reichhardt GmbH Steuerungstechnik?

Dr. Thomas Pohlmann: Das Projektkonsortium besteht aus dem Unternehmen John Deere, sechs mittelständischen Firmen sowie fünf Forschungsinstituten. Wir wurden Anfang 2020 in das Konsortium berufen, um die Isobus-Steuerungstechnik und -Bedienung der autonomen Maschinenkonzepte zu realisieren. Hierzu gehören insbesondere das Tablet-Service-System sowie die Fernbedienung auf Basis der Smart Command-App von Reichhardt. Diese wurde um innovative Isobus-Features und individualisierbare Bediener-Schnittstellen weiterentwickelt und wird künftig als neues Produkt bereitgestellt.

  • Wann sehen Sie solche Systeme in der Praxis nachhaltig etabliert?

Dr. Thomas Pohlmann: Aufgrund des zunehmenden Fachkräftemangels werden immer häufige und dringender zuverlässig autonome Maschinenkonzepte gefordert. Erste Anbieter sind in den letzten Jahren international bereits im Feldeinsatz, teilweise auch mit Schwarmkonzepten. Nach unseren Marktuntersuchungen wird diese neue Technik in zehn bis 15 Jahren insbesondere bei den Betrieben in Nordamerika und Westeuropa neben den traditionellen Maschinensystemen etabliert sein.

  • Für den Landmaschinen-Fachbetrieb könnte gerade die Nachrüstung solcher Lösungen an Bedeutung gewinnen. Wie ist hier der Stand der Dinge?

Dr. Thomas Pohlmann: Die Nachrüstlösungen für die Steuerung autonomer Landmaschinen werden aufgrund höherer Sicherheitsanforderungen und längerer Einsatzzeiten wesentlich zuverlässiger und durch intelligentere Smart Command- Bedienkonzepte wesentlich intuitiver sein. Darüber hinaus ergeben sich durch die Vielzahl neuer Anbieter von Agrar-Robotern interessante neue Geschäftsmodelle, wie die Vermietung oder den Betrieb von autonomer Landtechnik – Farming as a service. Dass dies auch für neue Anbieter sogar in gut etablierten Landtechnikmärkten wie in Deutschland interessant sein kann, zeigen erste Beispiele.

  • Wie geht es nun weiter im Projekt „Scharmkonfiguration“?

Dr. Thomas Pohlmann: Reichhardt wurde mit der Koordination eines Konzeptes für ein BMBF– Rubin ‚Feldschwarm – Ökosystem‘ beauftragt. Hierbei geht es um den Aufbau einer Technologieplattform für das ganze Spektrum von Assistenzsystemen, sowohl für durch den Landwirt geführte autonome Landmaschinen als auch für die völlig autonome überwachte Feldbearbeitung. Das bisherige Projektkonsortium wird hierzu um neue Technologiekompetenzen erweitert. Aktuell laufen Gespräche mit potenziellen Partnern.

  • Abschließende Frage Herr Dr. Pohlmann: Wie zufrieden sind Sie mit der allgemeinen Entwicklung Ihres Unternehmens?

Dr. Thomas Pohlmann: Wir konnten uns den weltweiten Krisen – ausgelöst durch die Corona-Pandemie und den Lieferkollaps elektronischer Bauelemente – natürlich nicht entziehen. Wir sind jedoch bis heute lieferfähig und konnten jeden unserer Kunden gut bedienen. Zufrieden sind wir auch mit der anhaltend hohen Nachfrage für unsere Nachrüstlösungen und OEM-Isobus-Automatisierung. Das stimmt uns für die nächsten Jahre sehr optimistisch.

Quelle: AGRARTECHNIK, Lukas Arnold (Redakteur)
Originalartikel zum Download

Das ist Feldschwarm-Technologie

Feldschwarm Technologien – dahinter verbirgt sich die Idee, in einem Schwarm autark oder semi-autark operierender Maschinen, die jeweils einzeln elektrisch angetrieben und im Verbund geführt werden, Feldbearbeitung mit einem weit höheren Automatisierungsgrad und bei deutlich geringerem spezifischen Leistungsbedarf durchzuführen, als es die heutige Gerätetechnik technologisch zulässt. Die angestrebten Technologieentwicklungen setzen eine enge Zusammenarbeit auf den Gebieten der Landtechnik, Werkstoffwissenschaft, Elektrotechnik, Maschinen- und Fahrzeugbau sowie Energie-, Anlagen- und Automatisierungstechnik voraus. Die einzelnen Komponenten und Technologien des Feldschwarmsystems werden in insgesamt vier Verbundprojekten erforscht: „Automatisierung, Prozesse und Werkzeuge“, „Chassis, Antrieb und Lenkung”, „Umfeldsensorik und Schwarmnavigation” und „Feldschwarm-Systeme”

Zum Blogartikel Autonome Landmaschinen in Schwarmkonfiguration

Tablet mit Funkfernsteuerung für Schwarm
Die Reichhardt GmbH Steuerungstechnik arbeitet seit kurzem mit der HBC-radiomatic GmbH zusammen. Diese produziert Funkfernsteuerungen, die helfen, autonome Maschinen bei Bedarf manuell zu bedienen und erhöhen so die funktionale Sicherheit.
Vielen Dank für Ihre Anfrage!
Die Anfrage wurde für folgendes Fahrzeug gestartet:
Vertriebspartner in anderem Umkreis suchen
Produktübersicht

Smart Farming Partner

SIS Remote von Reichhardt gewinnt Silbermedaille
SIS REMOTE

Schlüsseltechnologie für autonome Feldbearbeitung

Mehr erfahren
SMART AgLIGHT auf Traktor Neuheit von Reichhardt
SMART AgLIGHT

Das neue und einzigartige intelligente Arbeitslicht-System.

Mehr erfahren
Smart Command Tablet
SMART COMMAND

Die neue App für Smart Farming Anwendungen macht das Tablet zum ISO-VT

Mehr erfahren
Lernen Sie noch mehr über die Precision- und Smart Farming Welt bei Reichhardt
Alle Produkte